Skip to main content

Our Team

Ruby Acosta
Ruby Acosta First Grade Teacher

Ruby Acosta

First Grade Teacher

acosta@newnasa.org

Estela Aguilar
Estela Aguilar custodian
Jasmine Alvarez
Jasmine Alvarez Campus Aide
Wendy Barraza
Wendy Barraza Office Assistant

Wendy Barraza

Office Assistant

barraza@newnasa.org

Jamileth Barrera
Jamileth Barrera 5th Grade Teacher

Jamileth Barrera

5th Grade Teacher

barrera@newnasa.org

Anthony Bates
Anthony Bates 3rd Grade Teacher
Anthony Bates

Anthony Bates

3rd Grade Teacher

bates@newnasa.org

My name is Anthony Bates and I will be your child’s 3rd grade teacher this year. I am originally from Michigan. I attended college at the University of Missouri and I moved out to LA in 2003. I love reading, the outdoors, sports, watching movies and spending time with my family. I am so excited to be with NEW Academy. I have been teaching 17 years in elementary school classrooms.

Christopher Benavides
Christopher Benavides
Rosa Benavides
Rosa Benavides custodian
Tony Benavides
Tony Benavides campus aide

Tony Benavides

campus aide

(213) 483-6599
benavides@newnasa.org

Deisy Borrayo
Deisy Borrayo Transitional Kindergarten Teacher

Deisy Borrayo

Transitional Kindergarten Teacher

borrayo@newnasa.org

Elizabeth Cabrera
Elizabeth Cabrera 3rd Grade Teacher

Elizabeth Cabrera

3rd Grade Teacher

(213) 413-9183
cabrera@newnasa.org

Ms. Jacqueline Cano
Ms. Jacqueline Cano 1st Grade Teacher
Ms. Jacqueline Cano

Ms. Jacqueline Cano

1st Grade Teacher

cano@newnasa.org

Martha Carvajal
Martha Carvajal 4th Grade Teacher

Martha Carvajal

4th Grade Teacher

carvajal@newnasa.org

Eddie Castro
Eddie Castro School Business Manager

Eddie Castro

School Business Manager

(213) 413-9183
castro@newnasa.org

Ana Silvia Chavez
Ana Silvia Chavez Parent Liaison

Ana Silvia Chavez

Parent Liaison

morejon@newnasa.org

Karla Chavez
Karla Chavez 1st Grade Teacher Assistant

Karla Chavez

1st Grade Teacher Assistant

(213) 413-9183
chavez@newnasa.org

Liliana Daiz
Liliana Daiz Kindergarten Instructional Assistant
Joanna Espinoza
Joanna Espinoza 2nd Grade Teacher

Joanna Espinoza

2nd Grade Teacher

espinoza@newnasa.org

Martin Flores
Martin Flores Kindergarten Teacher

Martin Flores

Kindergarten Teacher

flores@newnasa.org

Ignacia Gandaria
Ignacia Gandaria Kindergarten Teacher

Ignacia Gandaria

Kindergarten Teacher

gandaria@newnasa.org

Dina Garcia
Dina Garcia 1st Grade Teacher

Dina Garcia

1st Grade Teacher

(213) 483-6599
garcia@newnasa.org

Wendy Garcia
Wendy Garcia 2nd Grade Teacher

Wendy Garcia

2nd Grade Teacher

wgarcia@newnasa.org

Erika Goytia
Erika Goytia Multi Grade-Level Support

Erika Goytia

Multi Grade-Level Support

goytia@newnasa.org

Myra Hernandez
Myra Hernandez SPED Instructional Assistant

Myra Hernandez

SPED Instructional Assistant

hernandez@newnasa.org

Yadira Hernandez
Yadira Hernandez Campus Aide
Nelsy Jackson
Nelsy Jackson Assistant Principal
Nelsy Jackson

Nelsy Jackson

Assistant Principal

(213) 483-6599
jackson@newnasa.org

Martha Jimenez
Martha Jimenez KA Teacher

Martha Jimenez

KA Teacher

(213) 483-6599
jimenez@newnasa.org

Martha Marin
Martha Marin Second Grade Instructional Assistant

Martha Marin

Second Grade Instructional Assistant

(213) 413-9183
marin@newnasa.org

David Martinez
David Martinez Principal
Viridiana Morales
Viridiana Morales Instructional assistant
Angelica Ortega
Angelica Ortega Second Grade Teacher
Angelica Ortega

Angelica Ortega

Second Grade Teacher

ortega@newnasa.org

Hello, my name is Angelica M. Ortega-Ramirez. I have been teaching at NEW Academy of Science and Arts for 16 years. I have taught Kindergarten, First Grade and Second Grade at NASA. The community and the families that I have met throughout my years here, have become my extended family. My goal every year is to inspire our students to reach their highest potential. Let’s Go Rockets! Let’s Go!

“Success comes from knowing that you did your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming.”—John Wooden

Hola, mi nombre es Angélica M. Ortega-Ramirez. He estado enseñando en NEW Academy of Science and Arts durante 16 años. He enseñado kinder, primer grado y segundo grado en NASA. La comunidad y las familias que he conocido a lo largo de mis años aquí, se han convertido en mi familia extendida. Mi objetivo cada año es inspirar a nuestros estudiantes a alcanzar su máximo potencial. ¡Vamos Rockets! ¡Vamonos!

“El éxito proviene de saber que hiciste todo lo posible para convertirte en lo mejor que eres capaz de llegar a ser”. John Wooden

Eve Medlock
Eve Medlock S.P.E.D. Teacher

Eve Medlock

S.P.E.D. Teacher

medlock@newnasa.org

Lidia Puluc
Lidia Puluc SPED Instructional Assistant
Lidia Puluc

Lidia Puluc

SPED Instructional Assistant

puluc@newnasa.org

I love science and music!

Christian Reyes
Christian Reyes 3rd grade Teacher Assistant

Christian Reyes

3rd grade Teacher Assistant

(213) 483-6599
reyes@newnasa.org

Cristal Romero
Cristal Romero Instructional Assistant

Cristal Romero

Instructional Assistant

(213) 483-6599
romero@newnasa.org

Mili Rothman
Mili Rothman 4th Grade Teacher

Mili Rothman

4th Grade Teacher

rothman@newnasa.org

Sonia Saenz
Sonia Saenz Kindergarten Instructional Assistant

Sonia Saenz

Kindergarten Instructional Assistant

saenz@newnasa.org

Yoana Sanchez-Valenzuela
Yoana Sanchez-Valenzuela NASA/ N.E.W. Liaison
Yoana Sanchez-Valenzuela

Yoana Sanchez-Valenzuela

NASA/ N.E.W. Liaison

yvalenzuela@newnasa.org

Hi! My name is Yoana Sanchez-Valenzuela. I have been with NEW Academy of Science and Arts since 2013, and I love it! I graduated from UCLA with a degree in International Development, and I am currently the NASA/N.E.W. Liaison. I also coach the NASA Dance team! I have had the privilege to work with and help out so many amazing people, and I truly love my job! Go Rockets!

Jose Tapia
Jose Tapia Fourth Grade Teacher

Jose Tapia

Fourth Grade Teacher

(213) 483-6599
tapia@newnasa.org

Roxanne Telon
Roxanne Telon 4th grade Teacher Assistant

Roxanne Telon

4th grade Teacher Assistant

telon@newnasa.org

Sean Anthony Todd
Sean Anthony Todd 5A/B Teaching Assistant

Sean Anthony Todd

5A/B Teaching Assistant

satodd@newnasa.org

Jennifer Vega
Jennifer Vega Office Assistant

Jennifer Vega

Office Assistant

vega@newnasa.org